Project participants

     This proposal is built upon the experience of groups that have been very active in environmental applications of remote sensing for the last decade: SpecLab-CSIC and Univ. of Zaragoza. The remote sensing groups will be supported by the broad experience of the INIA in fieldwork and laboratory analysis for obtaining biophysical vegetation parameters, and also from CEAM, which has an extensive experience on eddy covariance flux measurements and interpretation.

     SynerTGE will stress the international links with experts working in similar topics. International collaborators have long experience in the fields of proximal and remote sensing applied to vegetation monitoring, terrestrial LiDAR, Earth Observation (EO) studies of terrestrial ecosystem, biometeorology, biosphere-atmosphere trace gas fluxes, biogeochemical cycle interactions and dynamic global ecosystem modelling.

     SynerTGE members and Institutions are: 


 Dr. M.Pilar Martín, Dr. David Riaño, Dr. Lara Vilar, Dr. Javier Pacheco-Labrador, Mr. José Ramón Melendo Mr. Javier Becerra Corral and Mr. Vicente Burchard-Levine

Spectroscopy and Environmental Remote Sensing Laboratory (SpecLab). Institute of Economics, Geography and Demography (IEGD), Centre for Human and Social Sciences, National Research Council (CSIC):




Dr. Fernando Pérez, Dr. Raquel Montorio. Department of Geography, University of Zaragoza (UZ):


 Dr. Alfredo Serreta. Technological College of Huesca, University of Zaragoza (UZ):


Dr. Alberto García. Centro Universitario de la Defensa (CUD):



Dr. M. Rosario González Cascón. National Institute for Agriculture and Food Research and Technology (INIA):




Dr. Arnaud Carrara. CEAM (Centre for Mediterranean Environmental Studies) Foundation:



Mr. Jorge Angás. 3D Scanner Technologies:


      International collaborations: 

Dr. Rasmus Fensholt. Department of Geosciences and Natural Resource Management, University of Copenhagen. Denmark



Dr. John Gajardo. Centro de Geomatica, Universidad de Talca. Chile



 Dr. Mirco Migliavacca. Departament of Biogeochemical Integration. Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry. Germany




 Dr. Dennis Baldocchi. Biometeorology Lab. University of California Berkeley. USA



Dr. Gorka Mendiguren. Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland. Denmark  


Dr. Marta Yebra. Fenner School of Environment and Society. Australian National University. Australia